Recipients of Small Museum Grants announced
Arkansas Heritage awards 10 grants to recipients throughout the state(LITTLE ROCK) – The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism today announced $25,000 in grants for 10 historic properties and museums across the state. Funded by the 1/8th-cent conservation tax, the awards help small history museums, historical societies, historic houses and sites, and military museums promote education, awareness and enjoyment of Arkansas history.

“Arkansas’s community-based museums are one of our state’s many treasures,” said Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “These grants provide financial support for the business of day-to-day operations so that they can focus on telling the story of Arkansas.”

Award recipients are:
Calico Rock Community Foundation, Inc., for Calico Rock Museum operating expenses, $2,500
Cross County Historical Society, for museum improvements, $2,500
Dermott Historical Museum, Inc., for museum improvements, $2,500
Five Rivers Historic Preservation, Inc., for Randolph County Heritage Museum 2022 utilities, $2,500
Hardy History Association, for the “Oral Histories and Living Legacies” project, $2,500
Hot Spring County/Arkansas Historical Society, for operating expenses and utilities, $2,500
Hot Spring County Museum, for operating expenses and museum improvements and utilities, $2,500
Lonoke County Museum, for operating expenses, $2,500
Newton County Historical Society, for Bradley House Museum 2022 utilities, $2,500
Saunders Memorial Museum, for sustainability efforts, $2,500

The Small Museum Grant Program aims to increase the ability of community-based small museums and organizations to research, preserve, present and conserve Arkansas history. Arkansas Heritage Director Jimmy Bryant expanded how critical funding support can be for small museums and historical sites.

“Small museums can find it difficult to get funding for daily operations,” Bryant said. “These grants provide financial support so that they can continue to protect the best of Arkansas, as well as spread the word about what makes these resources so special.”

Eligible organizations must have an annual operating budget of $250,000 or less; must have a staff of at least one person, either paid or volunteer; and must be open to the public at least 90 days per year. Eligible activities include buildings and grounds maintenance, operating costs, equipment purchases up to $1,000, accessioning of artifact collections, educational programming, research, exhibits, and web site design and maintenance. The maximum grant award is $2,500.

Bryant presented ceremonial checks to the grant recipients at an event at Arkansas Heritage headquarters.

To learn more about the application process, visit . The deadline for the next cycle of grant applications is October 20, 2022. Awards are granted twice per year.

For more information about the Small Museum Grants Program, please contact Debra Fithen, grants manager for Arkansas Heritage, at 501-324-9150 or .

Arkansas Heritage
Arkansas Heritage was created in 1975. There are eight agencies with unique heritage focuses under the umbrella of this division: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Jimmy Bryant serves as director of the division.
Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism
The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism. Stacy Hurst serves as the cabinet secretary for the department.