Congratulations to Batesville for Receiving the “Community Tourism Development Award” at the Arkansas Governor’s Conference

Kyle Christopher, Tourism Director at Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce

2018 Henry Awards presented at Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism
Photos available:

Madison Murphy named ‘Tourism Person of the Year’

Arkansas tourism partners from across the state today honored the 2018 winners of the annual “Henry Awards” during a ceremony at the 44th Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, held March 11-13 in West Memphis. The Henry Awards honor individuals and organizations that have made important contributions to the state’s tourism industry in the preceding year.

Kane Webb, executive director of the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, served as master of ceremonies and Miss Arkansas Maggie Benton assisted in the presentation of the awards.

The winners were:

— Tourism Person of the Year: Madison Murphy

— Media Support Award: AY Magazine, Little Rock

— Bootstrap Award: Visit Hot Springs and 61 Celsius

— Arkansas Heritage Award: Wilson (Town of Wilson and the Lawrence Group)

— Grand Old Classic Special Event Award: Warfield Concerts, Helena-West Helena

— Outstanding Volunteer Service Award: Keep Arkansas Beautiful, Little Rock

— Community Tourism Development Award: Batesville (Main Street Batesville, Batesville Chamber of Commerce, City of Batesville)

— The Natural State Award: Murphy Arts District (MAD), El Dorado

The Henry Awards have been a feature of the annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism since their debut in 1981. The awards are named for Henri de Tonti, founder of Arkansas Post in 1686, and who is often hailed as the first “Arkansas Traveler.”

For more information, contact Kristine Puckett, Deputy Tourism Director, at 501-682-1120 or email